UNI 10891 - Private vigilance service

UNI 10891 – Private vigilance serviceRegulation UNI 10891’s primary objective is to establish minimum requirements for any type of Private vigilance service organizations, giving indications for every single service. This regulation became mandatory as of 16 September 2012, when it was imposed by the Authorities to acquire conformity to UNI 10891 certification to all private vigilance organizations. This regulation focuses on certifying quality levels achievement and maintenance within different types of services:

  • inspection vigilance;
  • permanent vigilance;
  • anti-theft vigilance;
  • anti-shoplifting vigilance;
  • video surveillance;
  • telecare;
  • remote monitoring;
  • active intervention vigilance;
  • safety deposit;
  • escorting of valuables;
  • transport of valuables;
  • handling money and related goods.

General requirements indicate operational methods, technical equipment and monitoring procedures by the client of each type of private vigilance. Great emphasis is placed on organizational requirements that define client relationship, internal organization and human resources management.
The benefits are:

  • demonstrate coherence with obligatory requests;
  • raise trustworthiness of your clients;
  • guarantee communication and transparency of quality services which, thanks to the third-party monitoring activity, get credibility and pertain to the “service certification – process” scheme;
  • Better ability to adhere to legal requirements
  • possibility of competing in foreign markets with an objective warranty of organization quality;
  • more likeliness of winning national and international tenders;
  • more possibility of getting clients;
  • improvement of the company image;
  • monitoring and cost-cutting.

The most important parts of the certification process are:

  • Definition of the purpose of certification;
  • Pre-audit (optional); Gap-analysis and diagnosis of current situation in comparison to standards. The objective is to evaluate the process conformity to the requirements of Quality Assurance. The main phases of Gap analysis include:
    • Purpose definition;
    • Audit;
    • Non-conformity reports and opportunities for improvement;
  • Certification audit
  • Certificate issue, valid for three years;
  • Monitoring audit, in order to check the conformity maintenance is kept up to the standards and continuous improvement;
  • Three year validity - when expired, the certificate can be renewed in accordance with the abovementioned procedure.