SA8000 Social Accountability Certification

SA8000 Social Accountability CertificationSA8000 Social Accountability Certification systems are management tools voluntarily adopted by companies to guarantee that their products are made in humane working environment and represent responsible production. Its application makes sure that the working conditions are coherent with human rights.

SA8000 is based on:

  • The conventions of the International Labor Organization (ILO);
  • The Universal Declaration of Human Rights of UN;
  • The United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child;
  • The United Nations Convention on elimination of any forms of discrimination against women;
  • The United Nations Convention on elimination of any forms of racial discrimination;
  • International agreements on Civil, Political, Economic, Social and Cultural Rights

Obtaining an SA8000 Certificate means to enrich the business and its products or services with those intangible values that arise from adoption of socially responsible behaviors.
DIMITTO is a part of Ethic Work Network created by CISE (Innovation and Economic Development Center – Special Agency of Chamber of Commerce – Forlì and Cesena) for Social Accountability Certification systems of companies based on international regulation SA8000 and accredited by SAAS.

The advantages of SA8000 certification are:

  • Improved credibility and reputation on reference market;
  • Major trust among consumers, better relationships with institutions and social organizations;
  • Ethical and social propriety supervision in the supply chain;
  • Better working climate;Better internal and external communication, throughout publicly available reports;
  • Special terms access to financial procedures
  • Reduction of resource misuse
  • Better ability to adhere to legal requirements
  • possibility of competing in foreign markets with an objective warranty of organization quality;
  • more likeliness of winning national and international tenders;
  • reduction of bank guarantee in public contracts;
  • more possibility of getting clients;
  • improvement of the company image;
  • monitoring and cost-cutting.

The most important parts of the certification process are:

  • Definition of the purpose of certification;
  • Pre-audit (optional); Gap-analysis and diagnosis of current situation in comparison to standards. The objective is to evaluate the process conformity to the requirements of Quality Assurance. The main phases of Gap analysis include:
    • Purpose definition;
    • Audit;
    • Non-conformity reports and opportunities for improvement;
  • Certification audit divided in two steps:
    • Step 1: Certification preparation revision;
    • Step 2: certification preparation evaluation;
  • Certificate issue, valid for three years;
  • Monitoring audit, in order to check the conformity maintenance is kept up to the standards and continuous improvement;

Three year validity - when expired, the certificate can be renewed in accordance with the abovementioned procedure.